Welcome to Madame Melon! Subscribe to our newsletter and get 10% off your next order!

GOOD MORNING VIETNAM

COLLECTION N*7


This time, MADAME MELON has decided to change continent...It's in Vietnam that she puts her bags.
After the chaotic but fascinating Hanoi, direction Sapa, North-East Vietnam, a small town surrounded by rice fields and mountains, to meet the Hmong minorities.

It is in this fabulous setting that we spent a few weeks inspired by these women who shared with us their culture and their textile know-how to create the GOOD MORNING VIETNAM collection of ethical and colorful Vietnamese accessories and jewelry.

Sang was our guide during the whole stay and showed us how these women still work today. From the shimmering costume of the flowery hmongs to the indigo colored dress of the black hmongs, the techniques are taught from a very young age and mastering them sometimes requires years of practice.

The Hmongs continue to cultivate hemp for weaving, while the indigo, derived from the plant, is the result of a series of steps to obtain this colour. Batik, another pillar of traditional dressmaking, consists of drawing patterns with beeswax on a fabric, before dipping it in a bath of indigo to dye it and reveal its patterns, full of symbols inspired by nature and family history.

For the fabrics of the flowery hmongs, it is embroidery or assemblies of braids that make their fabrics so colorful.


Our pouches are directly made with these flowery and embroidered fabrics, and we have also created a range of Hmong jewellery, composed of Vietnamese bracelets and necklaces, with semi-precious stones such as turquoise, coral and lapis lazuli, inspired by their traditional jewellery.

You will also find our favorite objects such as hand painted notebooks, wicker baskets and brass bracelets, brought back in limited series and only available on our eshop.


Enjoy your trip to Vietnam!

Bienvenus.ues chez Madame Melon ! Inscrivez-vous à la newsletter et bénéficiez de -10% sur votre prochaine commande !

GOOD MORNING VIETNAM

COLLECTION N*7

Cette fois, MADAME MELON a décidé de changer de continent…C’est au Vietnam qu’elle pose ses valises.
Après la chaotique mais fascinante Hanoi, direction Sapa, Nord-Est vietnamien, petite bourgade entourée de rizières et de montagnes, pour partir à la rencontre des minorités Hmongs.

C’est dans ce fabuleux décor que nous avons passé quelques semaines à nous inspirer de ces femmes qui nous ont partagé leur culture et leur savoir-faire textile,n pour créer la collection d'accessoires et bijoux vietnamiens éthiques et colorés GOOD MORNING VIETNAM.

Sang aura été notre guide tout le long du séjour et nous a montré comment travaillaient ces femmes encore aujourd’hui. Du costume chatoyant des hmongs fleuris à l’habit couleur indigo des hmongs noirs, les techniques sont enseignées dès le plus jeune âge et leur maitrise requiert parfois des années de pratique.

Les hmongs continuent de cultiver le chanvre pour le tissage, quant à l’indigo, issu de la plante, il est le résultat d’un enchaînement d’étapes pour obtenir cette couleur.Le batik, autre pilier de la confection traditionnelle, consiste à dessiner des motifs à la cire d’abeille sur un tissu, avant de le plonger dans un bain d’indigo pour le teindre et y révéler ses motifs, chargés de symboles s’inspirant de la nature et de l’histoire familiale.

Pour les tissus des hmongs fleuris, ce sont des broderies ou des assemblages de galons qui rendent leurs tissus si colorés.

Nos pochettes sont directement réalisés avec ces tissus fleuris et brodées, et nous avons aussi créé une gamme de bijoux Hmongs, composée de bracelets vietnamiens et colliers, avec des pierres semi-précieuses comme la turquoise, le corail et le lapis lazuli en nous inspirant de leurs bijoux traditionnels.

Vous retrouverez aussi nos objets coups de coeur comme des carnets peints à la main, des paniers en osier et des bracelets en laiton, rapportés en séries limitées et uniquement disponibles sur notre eshop.

Bon voyage au Vietnam !